CFA: 2021 Marc Raeff Book Prize

The Eighteenth-Century Russian Studies Association, an affiliate of the Association for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ASEEES), is now accepting submissions for the 2021 Marc Raeff Book Prize. We encourage both presses and individual scholars to submit nominations to the members of the prize committee (listed below). 

The Raeff Book Prize is awarded for a publication that is of exceptional merit and lasting significance for understanding Imperial Russia during the long 18th century. The recipient of the award will be recognized with a cash prize, which will be presented in November 2021 at the ASEEES annual convention in New Orleans. The award is sponsored by the ECRSA and named in honor of Marc Raeff (1923-2008), historian, teacher, and dixhuitiémiste par excellence

Please address all questions about the prize to Gregory Afinogenov (Committee Chair) at

Submissions must be made (see Nominating Instructions below) by June 15, 2021.


  • The publication must be a monograph, translation, or reference work about any aspect of the long 18th century and focused on any of the territories of the former imperial Russian state. Textbooks, festschrifts, and edited collections of essays are not eligible unless they constitute significant and innovative contributions to the field. 
  • The submitted work must bear a copyright date of 2020 or 2021. 
  • Books that were already nominated for the prize in 2020 are not eligible.
  • Nominated works can be published in any language and in any format (analog or digital). If a work is in a language other than those known by the ECSRA Selection Committee members (English, Russian, Ukrainian, French, German), the committee will make a good-faith effort to solicit reports from qualified scholars who are conversant in that language. 
  • The geographic area of study is broadly defined as the territories of the former imperial Russian state and the Soviet Union. The publication must deal in whole or in part with the long 18th century, here defined as the period from the last quarter of the 17th to the first quarter of the 19th century. 
  • Books that have received other prizes are eligible. 
  • Scholarly merit, originality, and felicity of style will be the main criteria for selection. 

Nominating Instructions

  • Any scholar in the field can nominate a book for the prize. Self-nominations are welcome.
  • Nominations can be made by email to Gregory Afinogenov (Committee Chair) at or to any member of the ECRSA Prize Selection Committee (listed below).
  • Publishers: if you nominate a book, please send a printed copy to each ECRSA Prize Selection Committee member (addresses below); in exceptional circumstances, especially in the case of books from outside the US, UK, and the European Union a digital copy may be acceptable.
  • Nominations must be received no later than 15 June 2021.  
  • The award winner will be announced in mid-October 2021. 

2021 ECRSA Prize Selection Committee

Elena Marasinova 
Ulitsa Dmitriia Ulianova 19, 
Institute of Russian History RAN
Moscow 117292

(Россия, Москва 117292
Улица Дмитрия Ульянова 19
Институт российской истории РАН)

Simon Franklin
Clare College,
CB2 1TL,

Gregory Afinogenov
850 Quincy St NW
Apt 621
Washington, DC 20011

Ricarda Vulpius
Schopenhauerstr. 60
14129 Berlin

Amanda Ewington
218 Fairview Ln
Davidson, NC 28036

Schreibe einen Kommentar